Where I’ve been, part 1

So I took an unintentional hiatus from the blog. My goal with the help of the other contributors, was to post weekly, which in blog land, is like yearly. But I work full-time, and fill in the blank, so that’s what I could handle. I even updated the look a wee bit and was feeling good about it.

Then February came along. What happened in February besides me turning 33? Well, our Governor decided to screw everyone over. It’s a national and international story, and I won’t recap the details, but how it got more complicated was that I work for one of the unions that is getting extra screwed over.

I came back from a Bat Mitzvah in Westchester County, New York, which is its own level of crazy, to the most insane work and political environment I have ever seen. With my co-workers, I started working mind-mending doctor hours, on my feet or on the laptop until I literally fell asleep. Eating rice cakes like they were going out of style. Ruining my kidneys with the amount of adrenaline coursing through them.

The Capitol Rotunda, February 18

So I was MIA from life, basically. Forgetting things. Not around for friends and family. My husband became, for all intents and purposes, a single parent. The house came apart. But through all of it, he said, “go work.” Because we never knew what was going to change and when. One day, when I was driving Miss Red to daycare, she said, “Mama, ‘member when you go work to help teachers?” Needless to say, tears started falling down.

Democratic Assembly Member Brett Hulsey's Door on Feb. 23

There were rallies. People occupied the Capitol, sleeping on the cold marble and air mattresses. Susan Sarandon came into town. Michael Moore. Tony Shaloub. But my favorite part? Seeing my town, my lovely, amazing town, come together and really dig in and learn and voice and share.

Miss Red and my Husband

Where are things now? Eh, pick up a paper or read something online. It’s a marathon and most of us are built for sprinting or watching YouTube videos, but there’s still that fire slowly burning.

Miss Red, Thug in Training, pre-rally, cookie in hand.

Where else have I been? Stay tuned for Part 2, The 20-hour Tour.

– MD

    • Heather
    • May 5th, 2011

    Really enjoyed your post, YOU GO GIRL!

    • firstsmilesandtears
    • May 16th, 2011

    Thanks, Heather!
    – MD

  1. May 18th, 2011
  2. March 13th, 2012

Leave a Reply

