Active Adventures

I am not a naturally active person. Even as a child I was an “indoor kid,” preferring to read inside, no matter how pleasant the weather. I have to consciously make an effort to move and exercise, no matter how much I enjoy the way it feels or the results. For those reasons I’ve regularly attended yoga class for three years and started up the Couch to 5K program again after quitting in the fall when it became too cold outside.

CH is also naturally an indoor kid, preferring to listen to music, make art and read. He had an active yoga practice in the past, but has been a runner for more than a decade. He is also graced with some fantastic genetics. Not many people can eat bagels and cereal before bed and look as good (in my opinion) as he does.

Before we had Miss Red, or before we had any kids, I would joke, “Ug, what if our kid wants to play SOCCER.” It would mean standing outside, in the heat, cheering for other kids with runny noses. Obnoxious, right?

Miss Red had been a cautious child physically, until recently. We’re weren’t worried. She was a late walker, is slower to try new items on a playground and generally takes her time with new pursuits. That’s fine. One of my favorite stories about CH as a child is when he climbed a tree. According to my mother-in-law, he first looked at the tree, then climbed a few feet and came down. Then climbed a little more and came down. Then a little more. And a little more, until he had reached the top. It’s very much how he is now, approaching and tackling new challenges by slowly attacking them.

Swinging for maximum slide speed

Last fall we enrolled Miss Red in a toddler soccer class. I know, I know, but it was at the nearby Goodman Community Center, and we wanted to get her involved in sports in case she was indeed an indoor kid and needed a sample of something else. We shouldn’t have been surprised, but she really, really liked it. Granted, her attention span, and the attention span of others in the class was typical of their age, with kids resting in goals and wandering around, but she had lots of fun. Since then, she’s embraced more activity. This spring she hopped on her trike and peddled away, confidently. She started climbing on everything at the park – reaching the highest rung of the climbing structure, or balancing on different areas of the playground.

I know that much of this is due to her age, but seeing her fearlessness unfold has been so fun. I remember being a fearful child, somewhat risk adverse and embarrassed by my size. Seeing this smiling, swinging and balancing redhead is just the activity I needed all along.

Miss Red and CH

– MD

    • JoEllen
    • June 2nd, 2011

    Just found your website, but thought I would suggest a book. I was listening to the author today on WPR and it sounds really good. “Fifteen Minutes Outside: 365 Ways to Get Out of the House and Connect with Your Kids” Saw the latest post and thought it fit well.

      • MD
      • June 2nd, 2011

      Thanks, JoEllen. I just put it on hold at the library. Great idea!

      – MD

  1. I know how foreign it is to have a kid who likes sports when you aren’t into them. I was, and still am, very cautious physically–my kid plays hockey for chrissake!

    Adorable pictures.

      • MD
      • June 2nd, 2011

      Thanks, Sari! Wow – hockey is like The Next Level. I was the kid who was even too scared to learn how to do a cartwheel. Nerd alert! Having Miss Red has made me physical in a way that really is new to me, since I’m not “reliving my childhood.” Those awkward challenges are such a fun, squeamish part of parenting.

      And great work on the Isthmus blog! I loved your piece about the Capitol and protesting with kids.

      – MD

  1. July 25th, 2011

Leave a Reply

