Thunderbolt

I had a baby.

I’ve been aching to sit down and write about it. I want to detail my birth experience before I forget the details. I want to write about the thunderbolt of pure love that struck me upon seeing my new baby girl.

I want to write about nursing, how I am trying again, and succeeding (though it’s perhaps ‘success’ by my standards alone, as I will always struggle with low supply and supplement with formula). I want to write about our five days in the NICU, our heart-wrenching time there and the immeasurable kindness we were shown.

I want to write about the joy and gratitude in my heart when we were released to go home.

I want to write about my smart and hilarious toddler, who just hasn’t been herself since we all came home to live our new life. I want to plead for advice in easing this transition for everyone involved.

I want to memorialize my beloved friend and dog who passed away a week after our new baby girl was born.

I want to rejoice through words how, after seeing the chaos that is our life these days, my dad told me, “despite all of this, you are the happiest I’ve seen you in months.”

I want to sit down and write. I want to make an apple pie. I want to have some beers and go to bed tipsy and sleep until I wake up. I want the lawn mowed.

But I had a baby. So for now, I’ll carve out time for my toddler. I’ll kiss her and hug her and tell her that it’s going to be okay, that it’ll work out, that we love her as much – and more – than ever.

I’ll nurse my baby because I finally, finally can.

I’ll sneak in a shower. I’ll study tiny fingers and toes and beautiful new-baby lips. I’ll nuzzle a soft downy peach fuzz head. I’ll kiss tiny, soft, paper thin ears and a button nose.

I’ll try to take a mental snapshots of these early days as a family of four, for despite the chaos and confusion, I know I’ll remember these as some of the best days of my life.

I had a baby. Her name is Georgia.

– ALW

    • Nancy
    • October 8th, 2011

    Thanks for making time to share such a heartfelt entry. Left me a little teary with happy, chaotic memories of my own.

    • Mom
    • October 8th, 2011

    How wonderful that you can write so eloquently about the indescribable and profoundly moving changes in your life. Dad was right; you might be the happiest you’ve ever been. Life is grand, my dear. You jumped in and thought it was over your head, but now you’re standing – two feet on solid ground, soaking wet, but triumphant.

    • Amanda Hall
    • October 10th, 2011

    Beautiful post and congrats again on Georgia!

  1. This was so beautiful, and made me a little teary. Both your girls are adorable–congratulations on a full and happy heart!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

