Here and Now

As I was praying for my daughter to fall asleep, I came across Emily Rapp’s article in today’s New York Times, “Notes From a Dragon Mom.” It’s a gut-wrenching essay about being in the moment for her terminally ill child. Each sentence sticks to me, but this paragraph, in particular, levels me:

And there’s this: parents who, particularly in this country, are expected to be superhuman, to raise children who outpace all their peers, don’t want to see what we see. The long truth about their children, about themselves: that none of it is forever.

I’m not one to compare myself to other moms. I don’t really care about being a “supermom” or a woman who “has it all,” because I don’t know what that means and thankfully, feel like I have a lot. Wait – to be honest, I do envy women who don’t “look” like they’ve had children, while I no longer can wear yoga pants in public. But that’s my deal. I digress.

Round and round we go, photo by EC

Rapp’s story serves as that snap-of-the-fingers to stop wishing now away.

Check out her story, and remember that right now, right here, is all we have.

– MD

  1. Thanks for sharing Marlena. I often feel very similar when it comes to parenting Jonathan, that today is all we are guaranteed. It’s difficult after losing two other children, to not feel that reality, but I do believe it makes me a better parent because I do cherish every single moment I DO get with him.

      • MD
      • October 16th, 2011

      Thanks, Melissa. I love the way you talk about your children-you honor all of them in their own unique way and always do seem present in memory and life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

