That Time I Auditioned for Listen to Your Mother…

And other parts of my weekend…

On Saturday afternoon I auditioned for the Madison show of Listen to Your Mother. It was held at the lovely Happy Bambino.

I was nervous, not because I’m afraid of public speaking. I’m actually not. Not too much at least, but because I was reading something completely new and something I haven’t talked about on the ‘ol blog. I promise to share the piece whether or not I read it on stage. But the experience was powerful, and Ann and the stage manager were so kind and complimentary, I told them that they needed to open a drive-through compliment business. I left buoyed and hopeful.

I will find out this week if I made it or not. Last I heard there were 40 women auditioning for 12 spots. I’ll feel OK if I don’t make it, because it made me put some feelings down on actual paper. Yes, I wrote one draft that I ended up using, on actual paper. Using a pen and all. I will report back!

But the night before I got to work on a really satisfying craft project, thanks to NVC. She bought supplies to make fabric-covered buttons, and I cranked out a number of rubber bands, bobbie pins and barrettes for Miss Red.

fabric-covered buttons

Sorry for the poor photos. Taken with my phone.

When I showed her the “3” rubber band, she said “But I am three and a HALF, not three.” Point taken.

And here she is, actually wearing her barrettes:

Miss Red, barretted.

Sunday we went to a Stellar 3rd birthday party, hosted by Megan of Accidents Will Happen. I love how, when people ask us how we know one another and I tell them that we met on Twitter, they look somewhat shocked. It’s true. We followed each other on Twitter, and then one day took a giant leap and had a play date. And we lived to tell the tale!

Have you done anything lately that got you out of your comfort zone? Made any buttons? Went to any kid birthday parties?

– MD

  1. I made a bunch of red velvet buttons recently, but it was for work, so it wasn’t that unusual for me! šŸ™‚ Fun, isn’t it? This morning I used a drain snake, which is a tad unusual (and gross). But I think I need to do more atypical stuff. The problem is, I’m pretty booked, even with my usual routine.

      • MD
      • March 5th, 2012

      I can’t stop thinking about buttons. It’s unreal. And yes, eww, on the drain snake. One time I used a Cobra Zip-it (similar) and nearly lost it.

      – MD

  1. March 12th, 2012

Leave a Reply

